Privacy and Security

An iPad is a fairly personal device and iOS isn't really designed to be shared by multiple users. Any Apps which sign in to services generally stay signed in as you until you choose to delete your sign in info. For this reason, and because your iPad will be storing plenty of school work, you need to consider the scenario of someone else even accidentally picking up your iPad.

From Hillbrook's perspective, all iPads must be protected with a lock screen PIN. This only has to be a simple 4 digit code and it will prevent anyone random from being able to access information on or via your iPad.

Another must from Hillbrook's perspective is a free Apple App and service called "Find My iPad". It allows you to try to track, remote lock or wipe your iPad via an online iCloud based service if it has gone missing. So make sure you install the App for free as soon as possible and then head to Apple's online info to find out all about it.

Use a passcode

Your passcode helps prevent other people from accessing your device. Learn how to set up a passcode on your devices.

Enter Passcode screen

Use Find my iPhone

If you have an iCloud account, you can use Find my iPhone in these ways:

  • Locate and track your device on a map.
  • Play a sound on your device to find it when it's nearby.
  • Remotely lock or erase a lost device.

Learn how to set up Find my iPhone.

Privacy controls

Apps can use and share your contacts, location services, photos, microphone access, and other data and features. The first time an app requests your data, you'll be asked to allow access. 

"Camera" would like to use your current location

If you change your mind later, or want to check which apps you've shared data with, go to Settings > Privacy.

Privacy screen

To reset all location-service and privacy warnings, go to Settings > General > Reset > Reset Location & Privacy.

Only allow trusted devices

When you connect a device with iOS 7 or later to a computer for the first time, you'll be asked to trust the computer before you can continue. 

Trust this computer?

Do you want to allow this computer to access information on this phone?

If you use a passcode, you'll need to unlock your device before it can sync with your computer. 

iTunes could not connect error message

Encrypt your iTunes backup

You store all kinds of important things on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch, like photos and videos. To protect yourself from data loss, you can use iCloud or iTunes to back up. If you ever need to restore your device or set up a new one, you can use your backup data. Note that iCloud backups differ from backups in iTunes:

  • An iCloud backup secures and encrypts your data.
  • An iTunes backup stores your device's data to your computer, unencrypted. There is also an iTunes Encrypt Backup option for added protection.

Be sure to remember your password, or you might not be able to recover your data.

Encrypt backup option

Get more help

Find out what to do if your device is lost or stolen.

Last modified: Wednesday, 4 February 2015, 1:32 PM